To Walk Invisible: The Brontë Sisters

Post 190.3

Last weekend I read this article by Bookster where they talk about a TV-series coming to America on March 26th 2017 on PBS. The British show first aired as a TV-movie on the BBC in December 2016. The mini-series entitled To Walk Invisible is set in the mid-19th century; from 1845 tot 1848, when Emily Brontë published Wuthering Heights, Anne Brontë published Agnes Grey and Charlotte Brontë published Jane Eyre.

We see the sisters in their day-to-day life. Their brother Branwell, who was meant to be a poet, is addicted to alcohol and has ruined their prospects when his affair with the wife of the family who employed him (and his sister Anne) was discovered. The sisters are now struggling to get by, while their brother continues to fall further and further into his addiction to both alcohol and drugs. Emily, Anne and Charlotte realise they have to take action, so they decide to publish their writings. But because of the time they live in, the Brontës decide to do so under male pseudonyms.

Post 190.0

I’m going to let the trailer speak for itself. If you are a fan of the Brontës’ books, this will be enough to convince you to watch it:

If you’d like a little more background on this unique biopic, I’d suggest you start by watching this little video clip:

And if you want to understand where the title comes from (and see why they decided to publish under male pseudonyms), say no more:

Disclaimer: I own none of this video material, they are the property of the BBC and PBS. More clips can be found here, with the BBC.

And for those of you who want more information about the sisters, their lives and their books, I love this little overview made by PBS for the American launch:

Post 190.2

Happy watching & (re)reading,

Loes M.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.